Please note: Map markers are approximate and for illustration purposes only.

NISS Arrest Members of the Umma Party, DUP, and SPLM-N


Sudanese security forces arrested several members of the Umma Party General Stream, a faction led by Mohammed Abdalla Aldoma, who is strongly believed to have won the election as Secretary General of the Umma party. Despit this electoral victory, the leader of the party confirmed General Siddig Ahmed Ismail instead.

The General Stream is a faction within the Umma Party which opposes the participation of the party in the broad-based government called for by the Sudanese Congress Party.

The arrested members are:

  1. Ahmed Almuntasir
  2. Isam Abdulhug
  3. Riyad Hamza
  4. Mutwakil Mahmoud
  5. Mahmoud Dafa’ alla
  6. Omer Dafa’ alla
  7. Elzein Hamid
  8. Mushahid Da’wood
  9. Mustafa Nua’man

Hussam eldin Mustafa and Abdulgadir Ali Abdelrahim, two members of the Sudan Peoples' Liberation Movement- North (SPLM-North) were detained in the last week of October 2011.

Several members of Democratic Unionist Party (DUP), who oppose the participation of DUP in the broad-based government called for by the NCP, were also detained in the last week of October. The members were arrested during this year’s annual ceremony held by the Khatimia sect in memory of the late Ali Al-Merghani. The detainees are:

  1. Waleed Seif
  2. Ibrahim Ali
  3. Mohammed Abugasim Salih Belal
  4. Awadalla Kheiralla
  5. Elhadi
  6. Muhnnad Al Munzir
  7. Ashraf Mohammed Osheik

Incident Tags